and no wiser

Light, Lasers and Quanta

Gerd Leuchs

70th Birthday Symposium
at the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light
in Erlangen, Germany


We are now happy to announce that the symposium has been re-scheduled and will take place just before CLEO/Europe, on June 18-19, 2021. The preliminary plan is to start talks on the morning of Friday 18th and finish late afternoon on Saturday 19th.

MAx Planck Institute for the science of light

Gerd Leuchs co-authored more than 300 scientific publications and edited three books. He is Director Emeritus at the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen, and an adjunct professor within the physics department of the University of Ottawa. Some years after joining the faculty of physics at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) in 1994 he proposed that the Max Planck Society engage in optics and photonics at Erlangen, resulting first in the Max Planck Research Group for Optics, Information and Photonics and then in the MPI for the Science of Light (MPL). Gerd Leuchs’ scientific work includes quantum noise reduced and entangled light beams, solitons in optical fibres, nano-optics and quantum communication protocols. He won the Quantum Electronics and Optics Prize of the European Physical Society (2005), an advanced grant from the European Research Council (2014), the Julius-von-Haast Fellowship Award from the Royal Society of New Zealand (2017), a mega-grant of the Ministry of Science and Education of the Russian Federation as well as the Herbert Walther Prize jointly conferred by the German Physical Society (DPG) and the Optical Society (OSA), both in 2018. He was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit of Germany (2012) and became a member of the Maximilian Ordre of Bavaria (2018). He holds honorary degrees from Danish Technical University and St. Petersburg State University and enjoys being a foreign member of the Russian Academy of Sciences. He is member of a number of advisory boards for quantum technology application and innovation in Germany and abroad. He currently runs an emeritus group at MPL, serves on the board of directors of OSA, co-chairs the Max Planck School of Photonics, and is a member of the Senate of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.
Research at the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light covers a wide range of topics, including nonlinear optics, quantum optics, nanophotonics, photonic crystal fibres, optomechanics, quantum technologies, biophysics, and—in collaboration with the Max-Planck-Zentrum für Physik und Medizin – links between physics and medicine. MPL was founded in 2009 and is one of the 83 institutes that make up the Max Planck Society, whose mission is to conduct basic research in the service of the general public in the natural sciences, life sciences, social sciences and the humanities.


Philip Russell
Markus Sondermann
Group Leader – 4piPAC
Peter Banzer
Group Leader – InMik

How to Find US

For more information, please click here.

Important Dates

Registration closes: 7 May 2021

Symposium: 18 – 19 June 2021


Coming soon

List of Invited Speakers

Alain Aspect

Laboratoire Charles Fabry, Institut d’Optique, Palaiseau, France

Robert W. Boyd

Department of Physics, University of Ottawa, Canada

Paul Corkum

Department of Physics, University of Ottawa, Canada

Peter Drummond

Centre for Quantum and Optical Science, Swinburne University of Technology, Hawthorn, Australia

Berthold-Georg Englert

Centre for Quantum Technologies, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Elisabeth Giacobino

Laboratoire Kastler Brossel, Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris, France

Jim Hough

Institute for Gravitational Research, University of Glasgow, UK

Satoshi Kawata

Osaka University and Serendip Research, Osaka, Japan

Ursula Keller

Institute of Quantum Electronics, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Peter Knight

Blackett Lab, Imperial College, London, UK

Peter Lambropoulos

Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser, Hellas (FORTH), Heraklion, Greece

Gerhard Rempe

Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany

Monika Ritsch-Marte

Department for Physiology and Medical Physics, Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria

Luis Sánchez-Soto

Department of Optics, Universidad Complutense Madrid, Spain

Wolfgang Schleich

Institut für Quantenphysik, Universität Ulm, Germany

Marlan Scully

Physics & Astronomy, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA

Alexander Sergeev 

Institute of Applied Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Nizhny Novgorod, Russia

Christine Silberhorn

Physics Department, University of Paderborn, Germany

Andreas Tünnermann

Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Optics, Jena, Germany

Anton Zeilinger

Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna, Austria


Responsible editors for the contents of this website with regard to media law:

Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light
Prof. Dr. Florian Marquardt (Managing Director) 
Staudtstraße 2
D-91058 Erlangen

Phone: +49 (9131) 7133 – 400

Internet: www.mpl.mpg.de
E-Mail: florian.marquardt@mpl.mpg.de